The World Cup Title

Brazil, 5 Titles

The host country of the 2014 edition, Brazil holds the record of wins in the event with five acres. Brazil had to wait for its first triumph, in 1958. Led by Pelé, the Brazilians won again in 1962 and 1970. More recently, they won in 1994 and 2002.

In 1970, when Carlos Alberto wielded the Jules Rimet trophy (our photo), the Auriverde, already three times victors, kept the statuette. The Cup, which now rewards the world champion, is offered to the country, which has won the event three times since 1970. This year, Brazil, Germany, Italy, and Argentina can claim to keep the statuette.

Italy, 4 Titles

Behind Brazil, Squadra Azzurra has won four times. The 1934 World Cup in Italy was an ode to the glory of Mussolini, with the Squadra playing in black at the time. The 1938 World Cup in France also saw an Italian victory. But it was not until 1982 that Italy won again, against the FRG in the final (3-1) after being out of a second-round group with Brazil and Argentina. Finally, in 2006, the squad was crowned against France at the German World Cup.

Germany-FRG, 4 Titles

The reigning World Champions, the Germans opened their charts under the flag of the Federal Republic of Germany in 1954 with a surprise victory over the Hungary of Puskas (3-2). The Mannschaft was launched in 1974, with Franz Beckenbauer at the helm and Gerd Müller at the helm. A third victory, still under the banner of the Federal Republic of Germany, and of a Germany not yet reunited in 1990. Before the fourth victory over Messi’s Argentina in 2014.

Argentina, 2 Titles

The Argentinean World Cup which saw the victory of Albiceleste at home is marked by the oppressive context of the military dictatorship in place since the coup d’état of March 24, 1976. The Argentina-Peru match, described as “Strange”, saw the Argentines score six goals to the Peruvian goalkeeper, of Argentine origin, while they had to score four not to be eliminated. Less controversy in 1986 in Mexico when Diego Armando Maradona splashed the competition of his class. And his redneck. Against England – a match weighed down by the Falklands War-in the quarter-finals, he scored first a goal and then another, three minutes later, considered one of the most beautiful in the history of the World Cup. All of Maradona in one game.

Uruguay, two titles the first World Cup in Uruguay in 1930 welcomed 13 teams, including France, arriving by boat in Montevideo. The host country enters its name as the first winner of the event by dominating Argentina in the final. There were no finals in 1950, but a final-looking group match, played in the home of the Maracana specially built for the event, in Rio de Janeiro. Ghiggia’s Uruguayan goal in the 79th minute, which gave Celeste the victory, instantly silenced the 250,000 spectators of the game. The final of the 2014 edition takes place at Maracana.

France, on 2 Titles

12 July 1998, France is a sacred world champion for the first time. At home, Aimé Jacquet’s Blues finally opened France’s world record. Zidane’s second and Petit’s goal secured victory over Brazil. They make the country dance and sing a stadium ” and one, and two, and three… zero.” Twenty years later, France won its second star on July 15, 2018, defeating Croatia (4-2) in the final.

England, 1 Title

Like France, England had a victory in the World Cup, which was won at home in 1966. Bobby Charlton’s Three Lions dominate a West German final that still thinks the goal given in overtime to the British has never crossed the line… Geoffrey Hurst shoots in the 100th minute of play; the ball hits the crossbar and bounces off the ground. In front of the goal line? Behind? The referee awarded the most controversial goal in football history, and England won its World Cup at Wembley.

Spain, 1 Title

Spain arrives in South Africa with a title of European champion. Defeated by Switzerland in the first match, the Spanish won the final against the Netherlands (1-0 after overtime) thanks to an iron defense. A title deserved for a dominant team and finally rewarded.